What is Hatha yoga?

Hatha yoga is a discipline designed to prepare the yogi for meditation. It helps to bring optimal health to the physical body and uses energetic elements to enhance mental and spiritual growth. Hatha yoga is comprised of four elements:

  1. Asanas –  physical exercises with many health benefits also used to control and sublimate energy
  2. Pranayamas – breathing exercises to control and sublimate energy
  3. Mudras – exercises which are a combination of asanas, pranayamas and bandhas aimed at the utilization and sublimation of Kundalini energy
  4. Kriyas – different techniques for physical and mental purification


Why there’s so many styles of Hatha yoga?

In modern times, many styles of yoga were developed with the aim of reaching different physical benefits, losing the focus on the spiritual and esoteric aspects of Hatha yoga practice. However, in ancient India the physical yogic exercises (i.e. Hatha yoga exercises) were taught under the instruction of a Guru, and aimed at spiritual growth and enlightenment.

What are the benefits of Hatha yoga practice?

The practice of Hatha yoga helps us find inner peace and facilitates mental and spiritual growth. Hatha yoga improves the balance of body, mind and spirit. There are numerous physical advantages, including increased flexibility and strength, improved physiological functions, and maintenance of a youthful appearance.  Hatha yoga is a scientific tool aimed to prepare the body and mind for meditation practice by evoking energetic equilibrium.

What is Tantra?

The meaning of the word Tantra is to weave. This expression symbolizes the tantric view that sees all elements of the universe as connected (weaved) to each other. Tantra considers the universe to be an aspect of the divine. From this positive view of life and the physical world comes a practice which utilizes physical and energetic elements. The ultimate goal of tantric practice is to bring the practitioner to a state of enlightenment.

Is Tantra really connected with sex?

Most of the Tantric streams are focused on practices based on yoga, meditation and rituals. Only a minor branch of theTantric system (Vama marga) uses sexuality as the focal point.

What is Kundalini?

Kundalini is the basic vital energy situated in Muladhara chakra, in the area of the perineum. Different yogic exercises aim to help the practitioner to raise and channel this energy from Muladhara chakra to higher chakras, in order to reach higher mental states and purify one’s mind.

Is working with Kundalini energy dangerous?

There is no reason to fear practices that involve working with Kundalini energy as long as practices are performed under the guidance of competent teachers, and with attention to the detailed instructions.


Contact Us for your Queries.